FB Pixel

April 12 2022

April 12, 2022
Posted on 04/13/2022



April 12, 2022




Salina Education Foundation LIFT and Grants Presentations

Michael Chambers, executive director of the Salina Education Foundation, presented the recipients of the 2022 LIFT program, Lauren Allen, Madisyn Ehrlich, Diana Geist, Megan Householter, Hannah Kipp, Paige Musselwhite, Zac Salas and Kamryn Sitton.

Outside the Box grants were awarded to Gina Turner, Ralita Cheeks, Aimee Holgerson, Dustin Dooley and Scott Chrisman.

21st Century Advantage grants were awarded to Lisa Hall, Elizabeth Burke, Elizabeth Kinion, Bridget Crow, Lindsay Radial, Carrie Pierce, Larry Cullins, Shelly Parks, Jill Howard, Deena Hilbig, Sheila Shaffer and Lesa Landauer.

Barhydt Special Education grants were awarded to Brandon Befort, Jenifer Svaty and Christina Flax.

Salina Education Foundation’s allocations committee also committed $3,000 in funds to support field trips in the next school year. Additionally, $8,300 was made available to support Sudden Opportunity Grants in classrooms across the district next school year.

You Make A Difference

The You Make A Difference Award is presented to staff members whose exemplary actions support students, colleagues and the mission of Salina Public Schools. Recipients of these awards receive a lapel pin and a handwritten note personally delivered by a board of education member.


Cindi Baker, Paraeducator
Lakewood Middle School

Cindi’s thoughtful and caring approach is appreciated by everyone who knows her. Cindi is always ready to help students with their homework and even brings breakfast and holiday treats to advisory class. Thank you, Cindi, for making a difference!

Sandra Bagley, Bilingual Paraprofessional
Schilling Elementary School

Sandra goes the extra mile to make sure students’ needs are met. She provided some home essentials for one student, she helps another with schoolwork during breakfast and even hand draws pictures for students to brighten their day. Thank you, Sandra, for making a difference!

Abigail Aranda Vega, Bilingual Paraprofessional
South High School

Abigail provides language support for students, helping them navigate schedules and daily assignments. She assists them with translations and works with their parents when needed. Abigail’s respectful approach is part of what makes her a positive role model for all. Thank you, Abigail, for making a difference!


Superintendent’s Excellence Awards

Central High Robotics: Drew Alstatt, Colton Prothro, Wesley Owens, Nathaniel Cabada, Aryan Kevat, Starlet Parham, Diego Garcia. Sheila Alstatt is the coach. 

South High Bowling:  On the boys team, Nathan Frees, Paul Hawksworth, Taniel Knutson, Carter Lambeth, Braxton Morrical, Campbell Peterson and Jesse Stelter. On the girls team, Nina Frees, Rylee Lambeth, Avery McComber, Anreya Ordonez, Aviana Ordonez, Ayella Ordonez and Callie Vargas. Seth White is their coach.

Central High Bowling: Keegen Gebhardt and Mike Kilgore is the coach.  

Central High Girls’ Basketball: Kendyl Gary, Hampton Williams, Aubrie Kiershct, Chalisicia Samilton, Landry Stewart, Mykayla Cunningham, Brynn O’Hara, Callan Hall, Tyler Vidricksen, Azbey Peckham, Elle Denning, and Maylin Owen. Chris Fear is their coach.

Academic Highlight

Shanna Rector, deputy superintendent, presented an academic highlight about the district’s improved graduation rate.


Personnel Report and Consent Agenda


Action Agenda

Addition of Athletic Programs

The board approved the establishment of a Unified Bowling program and an ESports program in the USD 305 high schools.

Capital Improvement Plan (CIP)

The board approved the capital improvement, technology, equipment and vehicle replacement lists.

Board Policy

The board approved board policy revisions as presented.

2022-2023 Handbooks

The board approved elementary and Chromebook handbooks with no proposed changes for the 2022-2023 school year. The board approved the athletic handbook with the addition of ESports and Unified Bowling for the 2022-2023 school year.

Discussion Items

2022-2023 Handbooks

Curtis Stevens, director of secondary programs, proposed changes to the middle and high school handbooks for the 2022-2023 school year.

Material Adoptions

Tiffany Snyder, director of elementary programs, presented the recommendations for an elementary reading adoption. Tracy Hutton, principal of the Salina Virtual Innovation Academy (SVIA), presented the recommendation for an adoption of Accelerate Education as the primary curriculum provider for K-12 virtual students. 

Special Education Update

Jeff Hayes, executive director of the Central Kansas Cooperative in Education (CKICE), updated the board regarding the three-year restructure involving Salina West and Opportunity Now.

Textbooks and Instructional Materials

Shanna Rector updated the board regarding materials and challenges.


School Board Reports

  • Bonnie Schamberger, board member, attended the Board Listening Session and Central (CHS) and South (SHS) high schools’ National Honor Society (NHS) inductions.
  • Gabe Grant, board member, attended a Parks and Recreation Advisory Board meeting.
  • Dana Kossow, board member, delivered a You Make a Difference award at Schilling Elementary, attended the Board Listening Session and participated in the Salina Education Foundation (SEF) Prize Patrol informing teachers of SEF grants at Meadowlark Ridge, Sunset and Coronado elementary schools.
  • Ann Zimmerman, vice president, attended the Board Listening Session, listened to Shanna Rector talk about crisis preparation on KINA Saturday Morning and attended CHS and SHS NHS inductions. She attended an Equity Council meeting, the Board Listening Session, Emporia State University’s Master Teacher event where Melanie Hammond (SHS) and Vickie Marcozzi (retired) were recognized and attended the Salina Chamber of Commerce Annual Banquet.
  • Scott Gardner, board member, attended the Heartland Policy Council meeting.
  • Mark Bandré, board member, attended the Smoky Hill Education Service Center Executive Cabinet meeting, the Board Listening Session and delivered a You Make a Difference award at Lakewood Middle School. He also participated in mock interviews for students at SHS.
  • Jim Fletcher, president, attended the Salina Chamber of Commerce Board meeting, a Parks and Recreation Advisory Board meeting, the after-prom and delivered a You Make a Difference award to SHS.


Upcoming Dates of Importance

  • Tuesday, April 26, BOE Work session, District Office, 5:30 p.m.
  • Sunday, May 1, Retirement Recognition, Lakewood, 3:00 p.m.
  • Sunday, May 15, Gradations, Tony’s Pizza Events Center, 2:00 & 5:00 p.m.


Superintendent’s Report

Linn Exline, superintendent of schools, reported that Kylee Carter, senior at SHS, is one of 140 Kansas students named a Career Technical Education Scholar by the Kansas Department of Education. Superintendent Exline visited Shannon Jones, PreK teacher at Sunset Elementary, to deliver a Teacher Appreciation award with representatives of the Credit Union of America and Project Teacher. She reported that the KESA accreditation site visit went very well and thanked Deanna Cullins, Shanna Rector and the entire educational programs department. She shared that the Chamber of Commerce is working on a marketing initiative and that USD 305 is also working on a promotional video and has convened focus groups for input to support the district’s efforts to improve. Superintendent Exline credited Curtis Stevens for arranging tours of local industry businesses for school staff to be able to convey to students the great opportunities to work in Salina.