52 Seniors Named Kansas Honor Scholars

52 Seniors Named Kansas Honor Scholars
Posted on 03/24/2021
Fifty-two Central and South high school seniors were honored for their academic excellence and achievement by the University of Kansas (KU) Alumni Association and KU Endowment. Kansas students ranking in the top 10 percent of their class receive this honor each year. 

The KU Alumni Association delivered distinctive Kansas Honor Scholar medallions, certificates and letters of recognition to Central and South high schools to be distributed to our 52 students.

Because of the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, KU honored the scholars virtually this year. A special congratulatory video, featuring messages from KU Chancellor Doug Girod, Alumni Association President Heath Peterson and former KU basketball player and Kansas Honor Scholar Perry Ellis, is available for viewing at kualumni.org/khs.

Congratulations to the following students!


Central High School

Valerie Alonso

Spencer Angell

Austin Beatty

Bridgit Conway

Chase Courbot

Shayla Dao

Avery Darby

Jake Eisenhauer

Erin Flax

Madison Freeman

Karter Fuller

Nelson Gutsch

Loren Houltberg

Katelee Jennings

Sophie Lenkiewicz

Makenzie Maring

Minerva Martinez

Reed McHenry

Hana North

Avery Regier

Isabella Rubino

Maxwell Shaffer

Braden Stack

Reagan Stein


South High School


Reese Altman

Evie Barth

Kaitlyn Bergmann

Leya Bixby

Mackenzie Bullis

Madalyn Crow

Maya Daily

Lauren Davison

Alexis Doherty

Ayleen Escobedo

Maeci Exline

Morgan Fischer

Diana Geist

Lizbeth Guardado

Megan Householter

Mariah Janda

Hannah Kipp

Tiana Marion

Nathan McConnell

Aum Patel

Lily Pham

Zozen Reitz

Brylee Sader

Emma Smith

Nathan Streeter

Michelle Tran

Travis Truong

Yaritza Vega